The Elder Scrolls®: Online, ZeniMax, The Elder Scrolls, Bethesda, Bethesda Softworks and related logos
are registered trademarks or trademarks of ZeniMax Media Inc. in the US and/or other countries. This site is not affiliated with ZeniMax in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for fans of the game. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
HomeHelpSearchMembersCalendar

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register ) · Notifications

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Login from Unknown IP Adress, No problem, just curious if anyone has had this happen as of late?
dolmen
post Apr 9 2014, 01:09 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 25-March 14
From: Texas
Member No.: 18



I played this morning with no login issues ( haven't had any for a very long time ).

Started up the game again this afternoon, got the Unknown IP address error.
No issue though, got the code and dropped it in and moved on.

I'm just wondering about it since I have not had this happen since way,way back last year. Wondering if ZOS did something or if my ISP did something is all.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Negative
post Apr 9 2014, 01:13 PM
Post #2


Expert at Mediocracy
**

Group: Admin
Posts: 90
Joined: 30-March 14
Member No.: 31



Your modem at home probably just got a new IP from the ISP. While annoying, it shouldn't be anything to worry about. I wish there was a way to opt out of it.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dolmen
post Apr 9 2014, 01:37 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 25-March 14
From: Texas
Member No.: 18



QUOTE(Negative @ Apr 9 2014, 04:13 PM) *

Your modem at home probably just got a new IP from the ISP. While annoying, it shouldn't be anything to worry about. I wish there was a way to opt out of it.


@Negative - Thanks, I suspected the same thing, just was curious. Personally I like this little bit of extra security ZOZ put in.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Negative
post Apr 9 2014, 01:46 PM
Post #4


Expert at Mediocracy
**

Group: Admin
Posts: 90
Joined: 30-March 14
Member No.: 31



Ya, I like it. But personally, I travel a lot so have to approve over and over again every time I go to a new location.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Negative
post Apr 9 2014, 04:53 PM
Post #5


Expert at Mediocracy
**

Group: Admin
Posts: 90
Joined: 30-March 14
Member No.: 31



FWIW, I got one today too.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Apr 9 2014, 05:41 PM
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Admin
Posts: 486
Joined: 21-March 14
From: Oakland, CA
Member No.: 2



My public IP hasn't changed in over a year and i have gotten those validation popups too.

Not sure if this is really working as intended ...
(IMG:style_emoticons/28/popcorn.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Imryll
post Apr 9 2014, 08:05 PM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 29-March 14
Member No.: 29



I got one today, also, and Shim got one when he tried to access his account to redeem the codes for our physical copies. Security is good, but I'd rather they settled on something less intrusive.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jessabella
post Apr 9 2014, 10:23 PM
Post #8


House Pet
**

Group: Admin
Posts: 68
Joined: 25-March 14
From: San Jose CA
Member No.: 19



I get them all the time, but I expect it, We have free WiFi in my apt building so it's unavoidable for me.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shimarenda
post Apr 10 2014, 09:04 AM
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-March 14
Member No.: 30



Because ZOS should only be seeing the IP address of our router, it seems strange that Imryll and I don't get validation popups at the same time or that the second of us to log on will get one. I'm not sure how it is supposed to work, but it seems a bit off right now.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dolmen
post Apr 10 2014, 10:18 AM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 25-March 14
From: Texas
Member No.: 18



This may be wider than just ZOS or our ISP's. Had my Steam account demand the same thing this morning after I don't know how may years...

Or... my ISP did hand out a new address yesterday after years with the same one... DHCP... not my most favorite of things.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Negative
post Apr 10 2014, 01:14 PM
Post #11


Expert at Mediocracy
**

Group: Admin
Posts: 90
Joined: 30-March 14
Member No.: 31



It may have just been that ZOS wiped the records they had of all accounts known IP. Maybe it's related to heartbleed somehow?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Lunachik
post Apr 10 2014, 02:07 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 23-March 14
Member No.: 11



I've been reading about Heartbleed. Its already happened, so its just damaged control for those who are affected at this point. I'm all for extra security when needed tho. I did get those messages starting yesterday.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd April 2018 - 07:15 AM